PDA

View Full Version : Tapping too early

Cuttingedge
03-17-2015, 08:05 AM
I have been tapping and making syrup for a few years as a hobby with friends. I recently moved from NY to Maine and now have approximately 100 acres with many Maple trees. This year I had a barrel stove evaporator made and have upped the number of tapping supplies in order to accommodate tapping a larger number of trees. I started tapping last weekend and I have not seen a drop of sap. I know that with the weather that we are having it may have been a little early to tap. Are these taps going to be OK? So far I have done approximately 20 trees that have 5/16 or 7/16 Spiles with the Sap Sak Holders. Should I hold off with the rest of the trees?
Advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jason

Jal-Bear
03-17-2015, 08:58 AM
Your taps will be fine. Very little happening for me as well. I fnished tapping a week ago and have only collected around 15 gallons out of the 200+ that are tapped. I would go ahead and tap so you will be ready when it starts to flow. Last year I didn't start to get good runs untill the last week of March. Mother nature just doesn't seem to want to let go of her grip on winter just yet.

Cuttingedge
03-17-2015, 09:08 AM
Your taps will be fine. Very little happening for me as well. I fnished tapping a week ago and have only collected around 15 gallons out of the 200+ that are tapped. I would go ahead and tap so you will be ready when it starts to flow. Last year I didn't start to get good runs untill the last week of March. Mother nature just doesn't seem to want to let go of her grip on winter just yet.
Thank you, I will tap the rest of the trees today and Friday.
One other question for you if you don't mind,