PDA

View Full Version : When to stop tapping help????!

Joeyhowe
03-16-2015, 09:23 AM
This is my first year tapping. I know once the trees start to bud your supposed to quit tapping. My trees are starting to bud but the buds haven't started opening yet. My saps still running crystal clear. I'm hoping with the weather this coming week I can get enough sap for one more gallon of syrup. Any info is greatly appreciated. I'm in centeral mn. St francis oak Grove area

PerryW
03-16-2015, 09:46 AM
I'm guessing that if you are in central Minnesota, there's still a LOT of season left.

Are you sure they are budding? I usually can't detect any noticable swelling of the buds until a week or two after I pull my taps.

Sandersyrup
03-16-2015, 09:46 AM
I quit when I finally make a batch that tastes bad. You might as well, even after you pull the taps they could keep dripping out of the hole until the wound heals. I don't pull them out until the syrup is buddy. And I typically make 5 gallons of maple mead with a buddy batch.

Also Silvers and reds typically bud early. Norways and sugars will keep going.

SilverLeaf
03-16-2015, 09:55 AM
If your buds aren't open and the sap is clear you're totally fine.

Once the buds are open and the flowers start coming out, then you're not necessarily done (unless you want to be), but watch closely. If the sap is off-color or has a really bad odor dump it. If the sap is still coming out clear though you may still be able to use it, but keep it separate and boil it separately to be safe. If the sap is bad you are usually able to tell by the smell of the boil that something is off - it'll smell like you threw some dirty socks in the pan or something. If not, you can keep going. I've made decent (though dark) syrup before from trees with flowers peeking out of the buds, but it's kinda hit or miss. A lot of times I use end-of-the-season syrup for cooking, where a little off-flavor isn't noticeable.

Joeyhowe
03-16-2015, 11:28 AM