PDA

View Full Version : 2X3 Question

Tyler
03-15-2015, 05:47 AM
I was close to burning my pan yesterday but caught it just in time. This is my first year with a Mason 2X3 evaporator with a batch boil pan and pre-heater. My question is once I run out of sap and the concentrate in the pan is at a point to pull it off, how do I empty the pan without burning it? Yesterday, I lifted up the pan in the far corner so that the concentrate would all run to the valve, but some ran back and that is where it burnt the pan. Im figuring there has to be a better way and Im sure someone here has the knowledge. Thanks for the help!!!!

cpmaple
03-15-2015, 06:26 AM
First is this a divided pan or open flat pan? Second does it have a draw off valve on the pan? If you answer yes to both of those questions then why not bring it to syrup in the pan I use to have a 2x3 divided pan myself when I first started made great syrup on it but have moved on to bigger rig. If you don't want to make syrup right now of the pan then chase it with water the water will put the more gradant (sp) product to the draw off port that way something is always in the pan. Either way you can chase with water to prevent burning of pans I do it on the last boil of the season. Hope this helps I'm sure someone with a little more knowledge than I will step in but that's what I did and do still.

bigschuss
03-15-2015, 06:40 AM
Since you're doing a batch boil you're going to have to kill the fire and allow it to cool before you try to remove the sweet. On my Mason 2x4 I have a divided pan and just like on the bigger rigs, I simply introduce fresh sap on one end and draw off at the other. For a batch boil I think you just need to let it cool and then finish it elsewhere.

brass maple
03-15-2015, 08:44 AM
tyler