PDA

View Full Version : beginner help

mikecon3
03-14-2015, 09:25 AM
Hello, this is my first time trying to make maple syrup and need a little help. I have only a few drops of sap after having them tapped for about a week. The temp has been below freezing at night and above during the day.the taps are on the southwest side of the tree. I am in central massachusetts and beginning to wonder if I either missed the season or am getting my trees confused and not tapping silver maples like I think I am. Any suggestions?

Marcus
03-14-2015, 09:34 AM
I have 4 silver maples in my yard 2 in front and 2 in back. The 2 in front were topped probably 20 years ago and this the third year that they didn't yield hardly any sap. The 2 in back run awesome.
Marcus Yoder

John c
03-14-2015, 09:40 AM
I had that problem too, so I decided to drill new holes and the new holes yielded more sap in 5 minutes than the week old holes yielded in a week.

WESTMAPLES
03-14-2015, 10:27 AM
beginners don`t sweat it it will come no need for redrilling new holes, that just stresses the trees and gives you less sap as the tree already has a hole to re-leave its self from. ive had a bucket test tap in since January and it hasn`t run a drop till a day ago. about 2 weeks ago i tapped my other bushes a they have run a few hundred gallons in the last 2 days its mother nature showing us who really controls what happens hang tight it will come and good luck

Quagmire33
03-14-2015, 02:00 PM
Hello, this is my first time trying to make maple syrup and need a little help. I have only a few drops of sap after having them tapped for about a week. The temp has been below freezing at night and above during the day.the taps are on the southwest side of the tree. I am in central massachusetts and beginning to wonder if I either missed the season or am getting my trees confused and not tapping silver maples like I think I am. Any suggestions?