PDA

View Full Version : Is this year gonna be a bust?

Chris Zeger
03-12-2015, 04:48 AM
This is my first year tapping and making syrup. The first few days this week I pulled 25-30 gallons a day off 38 taps now I'm not getting but 4 or 5 gallons a day with the warm temperatures will we see another couple runs? I know next week the forecast looks good but will it be over by then?

bowhunter
03-12-2015, 05:23 AM
No one knows for sure, but this is my third year and this is the worst year of the three. You should expect to collect about 12 gallons of sap per tap for the season. (on gravity) I've gotten a little less than 3 gallons per tap so far but the ground is still frozen in the woods so I'm not expecting any big runs until that happens. It looks like we're just running out of calendar and the night time lows are going to be too high to have very many more runs before the trees bud out.

5050racing
03-12-2015, 07:33 AM
Same here NJ nothing but little drip,more than a foot of snow n frozen but 60* yesterday and nothing starting to get scared?? Glade I have syrup from last year to hold me!

DrTimPerkins
03-12-2015, 08:11 AM
I know next week the forecast looks good but will it be over by then?

Unless the temperatures get above 55 deg F for several days and you get a refreeze within another week or so then you should be OK. We didn't make a drop of syrup until March 29th last year, and still made a full crop. Only difference was that the season was 3 weeks long instead of 5-8 weeks.

Chris Zeger
03-12-2015, 09:50 AM
Looks like we are gonna have 3 or 4 days in low to mid 50 then next week highs in mid 40 with lows in the high 20. Will the warm spell end it all or will we be ok next week

DrTimPerkins
03-12-2015, 10:24 AM
Looks like we are gonna have 3 or 4 days in low to mid 50 then next week highs in mid 40 with lows in the high 20. Will the warm spell end it all or will we be ok next week