PDA

View Full Version : after taste in my syrup

Jonl
03-10-2015, 12:43 PM
Hi i am in southern NJ and just boiled down my 1st 30 gal in a food grade (304) stainless steel boiler that i made. when I finished the syrup it was very dark
but tastes good but it also has a after tastes that i don't like.(finished to 220 degrees) as for storage I had 11 gal in the refrigerator for about 5 days (it smelled fine) and the rest was right out of the trees. My 1st smaller batch was really light and tasted wonderful. any ideas what the after taste? i did have lots of foam when boiling.

BillinTennessee
03-10-2015, 12:47 PM
I am a newbie here. Last year I made a few pints and did not filter it. It had an unpleasant aftertaste. I filtered my syrup this year and it is delicious with no after taste.

Run Forest Run!
03-10-2015, 12:51 PM
Jonl, can you describe the aftertaste for us?

Jonl
03-10-2015, 12:59 PM
hard to describe a bit sour? not the sweet finnish
How often should i empty my buckets ? i am using two 5 gal water containers that three about 3 days to fill. should i empty them every day and put it into my refrigerator?

Jonl
03-10-2015, 01:00 PM
i did filter threw muslin that was washed in the washer

Jonl
03-10-2015, 01:07 PM
also my syrup is a bit cloudy

Run Forest Run!
03-10-2015, 01:09 PM
hard to describe a bit sour? not the sweet finnish
How often should i empty my buckets ? i am using two 5 gal water containers that three about 3 days to fill. should i empty them every day and put it into my refrigerator?

As long as the outside temps are similar to that of a fridge or freezer, that sap is just fine after three days. If it's warmer than that then consider indoor refrigeration.