PDA

View Full Version : Taps per tree

brikel
03-10-2015, 10:55 AM
What is the rule of thumb for taps per tree. I looked on here for older posts but I am not having any luck! thanks

optionguru
03-10-2015, 10:59 AM
If your arms touch when hugging the tree, one tap. If they don't touch two taps. That's what we do anyway.

Marvel26
03-10-2015, 11:06 AM
I am a noob, but I have been using the 10" min diameter for one tap, one more tap for every 6" in dia after that to a max of 4. I allow exceptions as I have a "clump-o-tree" with 6 independent trunks each being 18+" in dia.....I have one tap in each trunk.

10" = 31.40" circumference
16" = 50.24"
24" = 75.36"

Practically, I have a 72" wingspan so if I can hug it and my fingers touch the middle of my fore arm its a 2 tapper if I can hug the tree and my fingers don't touch at all its a 3 tapper.

Marvel26
03-10-2015, 11:07 AM
oops, I was typing as optionguru posted. I use the old school method which is less conservative...

Sugarmaker
03-10-2015, 11:08 AM
At least one:)!
Regards,
Chris

Oddmott
03-10-2015, 11:18 AM
We've got a young bush with lots of smaller trees and only a few matures. So we're pretty conservative in what we tap, and how many taps we put in each.

12-14" diameter for 1 tap
18-22" diameter for 2 taps
24" diameter for 3 taps and we never do more than 3 on a single trunk

On our 12-14" trees we're also only tapping them once every other year. Otherwise they'll fill up with holes long before the rest of our trees mature to tappable sizes.

Michael Greer
03-10-2015, 11:29 AM
The fellow I learned from years ago tapped every 18 inches as he went arounf the trunk. This was too much, and though he was a greedy horses-***, he never killed any trees. The larger problem seems to be in finding a clear spot to tap after a few years. You have to visualize that scar in the wood and tap somewhere else. Too many scars and you end up tapping seven feet off the ground just to find healthy wood.

n8hutch