PDA

View Full Version : Will a gas grill work better than a turkey fryer?

Cedar Eater
03-08-2015, 01:25 PM
I have an old small Kenmore gas grill with an H shaped 2 valve burner. I'm thinking of getting a steam table pan, using the turkey fryer as a preheater and boiling on the gas grill. Thanks for any advice other than go buy something else. This is my first year and I imagine I'll get around to buying something else by next year. I have the gas grill connected to my home propane piping.

Homespun
03-08-2015, 03:01 PM
I would reverse the duties. A turkey fryer usually has much higher heat output than a grill, which would equal less time boiling. Maybe tee the line to the grill and run the fryer off the house propane too? I preheat mine on the house stove in a large pot because it warms up faster there (warmer air temperature in the house and no wind to push heat away from the warming pan).
Good luck this year!

Ausable
03-08-2015, 03:50 PM
I agree with Homespun - Usually - A lot more heat from a turkey fryer burner. I use my turkey fryer burner to finish my near maple syrup in a deep steam table pan. Hey - works for me.

Cedar Eater
03-08-2015, 04:38 PM
Okay thanks. I can try to tap the turkey fryer into the line from the house. I'm qualified to do the work, but I borrowed it, so I was hoping to avoid that. I also have just the burner from an old gas water heater that looks like it would put our a very big flame. It's tubed with 1/2" instead of the normal 3/8". I might have to actually pipe black iron instead of 3/8" copper to feed it.

Run Forest Run!
03-08-2015, 05:41 PM