PDA

View Full Version : Tapped today

Homespun
03-07-2015, 09:18 AM
My smaller trees had damp wood chips from drilling, the larger trees had bone dry chips.

Urban Sugarmaker
03-07-2015, 12:12 PM
Good luck. I'm putting the rest of mine in today, but I don't expect anything until Monday at the earliest. Tuesday and Wednesday next week should be good.

LImaple
03-07-2015, 03:28 PM
I'm a total noob, but have been dreaming for years of tapping the one sugar maple in my backyard. We did it about half an hour ago, and it started dripping before we even put the tap in! I just looked in the jug (I'm using milk/water jugs) and it looks like we have already collected about a cup of sap. Very exciting! I wish I had more maples, but the rest of my property is oaks, oaks, and more oaks.

dblact38
03-08-2015, 07:09 AM
welcome to the addiction! Have fun

LImaple
03-08-2015, 07:00 PM
Thanks! I went over to my Dad's (20 minutes away) and tapped one of his maples. My mom is paranoid that it's going to damage the tree so she only "let" me (a 44-year-old woman) tap the silver maple, not the sugar maple. Annoying, but better than nothing and hopefully next year she will come around.

adk1
03-08-2015, 07:19 PM
So you are going to haul sap from a single tree that is 20 minutes away?

dblact38
03-08-2015, 07:47 PM
LIMaple if your tree is big enough in diameter 18" or more, maybe you can put two taps in.

LImaple
03-09-2015, 08:37 AM
LIMaple if your tree is big enough in diameter 18" or more, maybe you can put two taps in.

I haven't measured it, but it's not all that big so I'm probably safe with one tap.

So you are going to haul sap from a single tree that is 20 minutes away?