PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator is here....firebricking questions.

Newbie_SyrupMaker
02-24-2004, 02:51 PM
Need some help again guys...the Leader 1/2 pint came today. I'll put it together in the am, but then I need to firebrick it...which I have never done before...is that a hard or time consuming task? Any suggestions on the do's and don'ts or useful tips?

Also, I assume, like most cement, is best to do in the warm weather...what about refactory cement? can I do it in the cold? Best I can hope for is about 30-35 in the day, and 15-20 at night for the next few days...and I'll probably need to boil by this weekend or shortly thereafter.

How warm does it need to be? how long will it take? how long until I can boil it?

Thanks for all the help. Glad I found this board...someday maybe I'll be on the answering side of these questions, but for know I appreciate all the newbie advice :D

-Newbie_Syrupmaker

Al
02-24-2004, 06:46 PM
I just firebricked my new evaporator and yes it can take time. It was 25 during the day and below zero at night. I put a small heater in the evaporator to cure the motar. (24 hours)
I had to cut alot of brick also so I got a diamond tip blade for my circular saw.$35.00 and well worth every cent.
I would say 2 or 3 days before you boil and you may want to do a small test fire prior to really lighting her up. :D
One thing I did was to get a piece of plywood and attach 2 8 inch pieces of scrap wood in the shape of an L. Place the brick in the L and it held the brick in place. It also allowed me to operate the saw and keep my other hand out of the way. It was also big enough for me to kneel on and hold it in place. Of course I have a stone floor!!!!!!!
Enjoy your new 1/2 pint!!!!!!!!

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-24-2004, 07:27 PM
Newbie,