PDA

View Full Version : Silly Question About Snow

AngryGuy
03-05-2015, 07:16 AM
Hi All,
I have some experience at this, over a decade now with my son with usually 10 taps and whatever version of an evaporator I'm playing with this year. What's outside of my experience is the massive amount of snow. I'm in between the 8 feet in Boston and 5 or 6 feet Providence is calling their total. That's far out of the ordinary here. On top of that I'm 5 weeks out from a hip replacement and while I could probably slog through this snow on a normal season I can't this year. That makes me sound do old. I broke it as a kid and I'm only 45, not 80. Just had to say that.

My question is how do you guys further north deal with snow too deep to efficiently walk through? Not only am I looking for practical ideas but I'm also just curious. I do have my son to help some. When we started this he was a 5 year old too cute to say no to after taking him to a sugarhouse in Vermont. That's how we got started. Now he's a 6'1" 270 lb freshman nose tackle who is so busy with school and friends and sports that I'm looking at doing the bulk myself this year.

Half of my trees are not my trees but on neighbors property. We give them a pint or two for the use of their trees but most are in a swampy wooded area I can't get my snowblower into. Anyway, I'm thinking snow shoes until the snow melts. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Sorry if I ramble. Not working means more time to drink way too much coffee.:D

Sugarmaker
03-05-2015, 07:22 AM
Sounds like you need to dial back a little this year. Get that strapping young man and several of his friends to step it up a notch for dad this year. Would be a good work out for them too. You stay in the sugar house till it thaws and you can get around better.
Regards,
Chris

Biz
03-05-2015, 08:22 AM
We gather a couple dozen buckets in the woods using snow shoes and a sap yoke :)

Dave

BAP
03-05-2015, 10:50 AM