PDA

View Full Version : galvanized buckets and lead

jwbmaple
01-30-2007, 01:06 PM
I am new to the making of maple syrup and had a question about galvanized buckets. I had recently heard that there may be a lead concern when using these types of buckets. thoughts?

Fred Henderson
01-30-2007, 01:20 PM
Yes there is some concern but there is also guide lines to go buy, as to how much is allowed. Each state has different standards.

Russell Lampron
01-30-2007, 06:28 PM
Jwbmaple,

If you already have the buckets use them and keep the sap gathered. Sap absorbs the lead and the longer it sits there the more lead it absorbs. If you don't already have the buckets there are other alternatives like using tubing and running it into a 5 gallon bucket or a plastic tote at the base of the tree. Sap sacks are another choice.

Russ

super sappy
01-30-2007, 06:55 PM
I am for some reason real paranoid about lead . I use some old buckets but if sap sits in them longer than 8 hours I dump them. In five years of tapping that has only happened once.I have eaten alot of syrup and the lead has only affected-affected- affested -affected my typing hand at this point. Where can you send syrup in New York to be tested ? super sappy

brookledge
01-30-2007, 07:07 PM
Check with your state association for the nearest testing facility. The only time mine was tested was a quite a few years ago.
As for wondering about equpiment you should be able to go to your local hardware store and get a kit that will test to see if there is any lead present in what ever your concern is.
Keith

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-30-2007, 08:16 PM
Used aluminum buckets are a fairly cheap alternative also.

maplehound
01-30-2007, 08:43 PM
There are a couple diffrent labs that will test for lead. The cheapest is your local dept. of agriculture. They should do it for free but then the results are public knowledg. ( at least the Ohio Dept. of Ag.) The next cheapest and most recomended for privasy is