PDA

View Full Version : Argo with tracks for hauling sap

Tapper705
02-21-2015, 08:36 AM
Anyone have experience using an Argo with tracks to haul sap. Currently using snowmobiles and quads. Our site is rugged, steep hills and boulders. The snowmobiles work well when there is snow, but when the snow is gone and it is wet, it gets messy with the 4 wheelers. Considering an argo with tracks but I have no experience with them. Any advice or comments are appreciated.

spud
02-21-2015, 08:55 AM
I have a friend in Alaska that used to sell them. They are great and a lot of fun. They will haul your sap wherever you want to take it. The bad part is they are very expensive.

Spud

maple flats
02-21-2015, 09:19 AM
May I suggest you look into tracks for your ATV. The 2 most popular makes seem to be Mattracks and Camoplast. My ATV plans to be wearing a full set next year, leaning towards Mattracks but not definate yet. With the ATV tracks the ATV forums say you can go anywhere, better than a snowmobile but slower top speed.

Jim Brown
02-21-2015, 09:46 AM
What I have heard is the ATV track system is nearly half the price of a good ARGO. Track system I,ve seen are around 3-5 thousand dollars. Good Argo start at 6 to 10 thousand dollars Both would do the job!
Just my two cents

Jim

MISugarDaddy
02-21-2015, 10:02 AM
We use a Kubota RTV1100 with tracks for collecting sap and it is fantastic. We paid $3200 for the Camoplast tracks. It is REALLY nice to have a heated cab when traveling between the woods and the sugar house. We have a 125 gallon tank in the back and that still keeps us within the load capacity of the Kubota.
Gary

Chicopee Sap Shack
02-21-2015, 11:15 AM
Flats get the camoplast tracks. They have deeper lugs and better approach angles http://youtu.be/AQh2FYwjUyg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sjdoyon
02-21-2015, 01:21 PM