PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator pan construction questions for the know hows

Azitizz
02-19-2015, 11:55 AM
I just about to start a project of making a simple flat 2x3 (8"high) evaporator pan perhaps with a small worming pan on top.

A few questions come to mind as Im making my materials list and planning the design.

I noticed many pans have edges bent inwards as opposed to outwards, I was about to build it outwards so as to make a bit of a "handle edge and add strength. I thought bending inwards (having a small edge around the inside edges of the pan) would take away somewhat from the evaporation, or would this be insignificant?

Second, Is it more efficient to put dividers in the pan or simply a thing of convenience? (i.e. its easier to pour off a constant flow of syrup as opposed to boiling everything down to a certain point then pouring off the whole pan? ) Im considering putting the flow divider in but I've never used them before, and if its not going to improve efficiency much I would like to keep the pan simpler and keep the possibility open for adding flues later on down the road some day.
How much of an edge would you recommend having on the arch to support the pan and to seal it off? Is there a standard or reccomendations so when I go to buy some rope gasket I have what will fit for the least amount of space?

Pete S
02-19-2015, 02:27 PM
Roll the upper edge in as that may help with foaming over. You'll be wearing gloves anyway so the lip "in" will work as a handle anyway.

I don't have any knowledge about the continuous flow pan design,................yet. I'll know more by April with any luck!

beaglebriar
02-19-2015, 05:49 PM