PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from Indiana. Intro and questions!

JUG
02-18-2015, 03:29 PM
I'm 30, Johnson county area. I work in public safety and dabble in competitive jiujitsu/martial arts. I have 30 or so maple trees on my property and 40-50 black walnut. I am only looking to make enough syrup for myself and maybe give a few small bottles as gifts. I plan on tapping 10 sugar maples and I'm wondering how much syrup I can realistically expect from 10 trees. Being a newbie should I attempt to tap more? I have tons of firewood, should I use wood to boil or gas? Sorry if I am beating a dead horse I did some reading and didn't find a answer.

rayi
02-18-2015, 03:58 PM
Depends on what type pan your boiling in. Also if you find you could use more sap you could tap more. Depending on a lot of things you could get 5 gallons of sap from each tap.

dtsmith
02-18-2015, 04:15 PM
I'm a hobbyist in Tippecanoe county and this will be my third year tapping, so I'm pretty new myself. My first year I tapped 3 trees and produced 3 gallons of syrup. Last year was a little slower - I made the same amount of syrup with 4 trees tapped, although I missed a week of collecting due to a spring break trip. Frankly, I have no clue if that is an average yield or if I'm lucky, but it has been more than enough for my family to use along with giving a bunch away.

I boil with a large stock pot and propane, Personally, I'm not sure I'd want to tend a fire at the same time. I figure that I can boil down 5-6 gallons of sap each night (close to syrup, but not there yet) without staying up half the night. Obviously, I can do a lot more on the weekend. The syrup is finished inside on the stove. Once things start flowing, it can be a struggle to keep up. The way it has been for me, I'd never be able to keep up with 10 taps the way I'm doing it now.

JUG
02-18-2015, 04:22 PM