PDA

View Full Version : need advise on my first year of tubing please

pennslytucky
02-08-2015, 08:39 PM
this is my first year doing syrup here at my new place. before, i always did buckets because thats just how we did it there at my uncles. he just did roadside trees so it wasnt a big hassle. i bought this property 2 years ago and have been thinning trees and cleaning up my woods in preparation for this year. i had a grand idea of the whole setup in my head that i thought would be best, but the more i read, the more im questioning myself. this has to go well or wifey will skin me for spending the money and not replacing it :/

this is all gravity

i have good slope. my property is at the bottom of a long southwest facing hillside. theres 200' of elevation in 2000' of distance. theres a creek cut right down through the maples sweeping around to the swamp below my house. i have 1000' of .57id "mainline" (its black poly irrigation line for hydroponic greenhouse application). the first 500' is already strung on very tight, fairly straight hi tensile, starting at my 300gal tank below the sugar house. i was going to add the second 500' roll to it and go on up the hill after i got this half plumbed up, but i am concerned now that its too far for the smaller line?
the slick thing about my hydro equipment (besides the fact i already have all of it) is that the laterals connect and seal perfectly every time using the emitter T's that snap and seal right into the mainline wall. all the lateral tubing is 3/16"id. theres plenty of slope on the main, and all the laterals will have 10-20' minimum of drop to it. my trees are all within 75' on either side of the creek draw.
with a 3x6 flat pan evaporator, i am fairly sure i wont be short on sap to boil :) but i know a couple "real" sugar makers who would be glad to have the extra water to boil so id like it to be fairly efficient.