PDA

View Full Version : Greenhorn and used Barrels

epd0407
02-04-2015, 04:39 PM
Hi all, my first post however I have been trolling for a good amount of time. This is my first year and am under the watchful eye of a very experienced sugarmaker about 30 miles away.

As any noob would be doing, this past year I have been gathering my supplies and running tubing. Im at about 160 taps but now you guys have me all freaked out with a prior thread on used barrels.

I got my hands on 10 white 55 gallon food grade white barrels which were used for mountain dew flavoring. I washed the heck out of them when I got them and ran a sanitizer I use for another part of my business around them, labeled them as maple to appease the neighbors and then put them out to wait. I did make note that the smell was probably a 6 or 7 out of 10 after my washes. BTW, I turned them on their sides and cut a 5 gallon bucket size hole and plugged it with a 5 gallon bucket (which I have almost an unlimited supply of).

Now reading a prior thread on people using used soda buckets you have me all freaked out that anything I make this first year will be off taste.

Ive now taken them back into the house and the first one is soaking with baking soda solution in the tub. Admittedly the smell is more of a 2 or 3 out of ten.

Is it your collective opinion im going to have an issue with these drums?

Ausable
02-04-2015, 05:40 PM