PDA

View Full Version : All Dark Syrup Last Year

llew.williams
01-30-2015, 03:09 PM
Question. Anybody have an idea why all my syrup was dark last year? I've been making syrup for 18 years. Never saw a year like that. Of course it was extremely cold and I made syrup later than ever before. It just wouldn't warm up. Anything to watch out for? I moved to new farm last year. New evaporator. Excellent stand of Sugar Maples. I'm small time. Only tapped 47 last year. Made 20 gallons syrup. May get bigger next year. Need bigger evaporator. Divorce set me back last year. But I'm making syrup. That's good. Can't wait to get started.
Thanks

StayinLowTech
01-30-2015, 03:26 PM
I'm anything but an expert, but I also had no Fancy, started with Med. and quickly went to Dark. Did everything the same as the previous years when I made all grades.

lakeview maple
01-30-2015, 03:33 PM
Started with a nice dark amber and stayed there almost the whole season,then went to b grade for the last 10 gallons.

maple flats
01-30-2015, 04:01 PM
Most reports showed that there was more dark last year than usual across the board.

argohauler
01-30-2015, 04:41 PM
Well I was the opposite last year. Started with light. I've only made light 2 other years in 20. Made a lot of medium, a small amount of amber and a decent amount of dark. I thought it was because of the colder season that I made lighter syrup.

G&D MapleSurgaring
01-30-2015, 05:37 PM
What Kind of an evaporator you have?

Potters3
01-31-2015, 05:40 AM
I am boiling on all leader equipment, Vortex and Revolution max pans, I do run a r/o to 8%, we made 470 gallons last year 1 barrel was Dark the rest was light or medium. I am not bragging we have boiled here for 3 years most of our syrup made is light (new Golden). The problem with that a lot of my customers want dark amber.

Russell Lampron
01-31-2015, 05:42 AM