PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum or Stainless

Flatlader
01-30-2015, 09:13 AM
Can you boil sap in aluminum or is stainless the standard? I'm new at this and just starting a small backyard hobby. Made some last year in an aluminum turkey fryer. It tasted great but was very dark. I'm going to boil more this year but hoping for a little insight into equipment. Thanks for any help.

Ravenseye
01-30-2015, 10:08 AM
I use an aluminum fryer to help boil it down before it goes into a nice, flat, stainless steel tray. The fryer lets me get a whole lot more sap done even though it's not ideal for surface area. However, since I tend to use the fryer to feed the evaporator pan, I think my syrup is darker as well. This year, I'm going to shoot for smaller batches so that the sap spends less time being heated before I filter and bottle.

maple flats
01-30-2015, 10:22 AM
The darkness is not related to aluminum vs. stainless. It is related to everything that happens to the sap between the tree and the finished product. Things like, time, sanitation of equipment, time spent boiling along with other factors. The faster sap is made into syrup, the lighter it will be, the sanitizing of equipment help and the harder it is boiled helps get lighter syrup. However you may want to remember one fact, the darker it is the more maple flavor it has, as long as it is not burnt. While I sell all grades, my sales of dark far outweigh all other grades, at least until I sell out of dark. Mine lean that way so much that I even blend light with extra dark to get more dark.