PDA

View Full Version : straight or mixed

sawyer40
01-24-2007, 12:12 PM
I going to boil my pans out with vinegar I'm assuming you mix it with water. Otherwise I would need 50 gallons of it to cover the bottom of the pans on my 3x10. So how should I mix it ? I guess I should include that my flue pan is a drop flue pan and takes a lot of liquid to get to a safe leval. I'm still new to this so any help is appreciated. I just got my oil burner fired up this morning to see how it worked. I haven't put the pans on the arch yet.

Maple Hill Sugarhouse
01-24-2007, 12:21 PM
http://www.mapletrader.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1124&highlight=gal+vinegar

Pete33Vt
01-24-2007, 05:28 PM
When I did my 40x12 with vinager, I ended up using 5 gals. I dumped 4 in the back pan a 1 in the front. I brought the water level just about up to where I boil at. I don't think you can get to much vinager in will just be harder on your eyes. The vinager worked great for me.

Pete

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-24-2007, 06:18 PM
I used 4 gallon in my 2x8 when I cleaned it last spring and I ran the water level up to 8 to 10 inches to get all the sugar sand off of the dividers and sides. I like it a lot better as you don't have to worry about skin contact or breathing the fumes and it works great. I just simmered mine for about an hour and then let set for a while and it does most of the cleaning itself with a little scrubbing. :D I only let mine set an hour or two, should have let it set all day or overnight. :D

maple flats
02-10-2007, 07:10 PM