PDA

View Full Version : Pump questions

drewlamb
01-21-2015, 06:47 AM
I've never used a pump before and am hoping someone can save me having to figure this out for myself. If you're pumping sap unhill, say 50 vertical feet and 200 linear feet, once the sap is completely pumped out from the lower tank, will the pump be able to push out all the sap that is in the line? I think the answer is a big "NO" but am hopeful I'm wrong. If sap is indeed left in the line, how do you empty it? Seems like unclamping the hose without a valve on the lower end of the line could leave you really wet. So should I put a valve on the downhill side?

Also, for cleaning lines at the end of the season, is it okay to have the pump push out through a smaller diam line then the intake line? The intake is 1.5" and I'll be pushing out first through 1.5", then through 1" mainline, and ultimately up the laterals. This is what everyone does, right?

Thanks in advance!

wiam
01-21-2015, 07:17 AM
I don't know of a pump that would empty the line. I would put a valve on a T on pressure side of pump. Then you can drain the line back into the tank. If you have a clean source of water you could figure pipe capacity and pump that much water up the pipe and then drain it on the ground. This would keep tank cleaner.

BreezyHill
01-21-2015, 08:09 AM
The way to clear the line after the pump is with an air injection system. Very easy to build and takes only a few minutes to accomplish each time you have to do it. The air will need to come off an air compressor. Our molasses supplier clears their 4" line with a 1/2"line takes all of 30 seconds to clear 75'+- with around 25' of elevation change to load the trucks thru the rack system.