PDA

View Full Version : Newbie and Volgalsang wood burner

Troy D
01-08-2015, 05:56 PM
I am REALLY new to this and have gotten some much needed help from some co workers. I have this http://www.northerntool.com/images/product/200x200/173/173896_200x200.jpg Should I get a 2 by 2 pan and have at it or will it be a waste of time. Instead Build a block arch and run with that. I plan on boiling off 100 gallons of sap TOTAL Thanks for any help.

psparr
01-08-2015, 06:34 PM
If you could modify it to be open on top it would be fine. But like everyone else will tell you. You will expand someday. Heck maybe even mid season! A 2'wide block arch can be lengthened to accommodate that expansion. The stove probably not. Good luck!

Ausable
01-08-2015, 06:51 PM
Troy D - Hi and welcome to Maple Trader. What You have pictured is a Log Stove - I have one myself. Ok to heat a small space and in a pinch You could cook on the top. I wouldn't use it to boil sap on myself - because I would not be able to get the fire or combustion I want. Could You make Maple Syrup on it - sure - anything that will boil water will make maple syrup. But - It will take a long time to get 'er done. 100 gallons of Maple Sap at about 2 1/2 to 3% sugar content will give You about 2 1/2 gallons of good Maple Syrup. Yep! Block Arch with the pan You mention is a good start. You would be doing - what we call Batch Boiling. I learned this the hard way - Invest in a Maple Syrup Hydrometer and buy or make a test cup to go with it. When You test for syrup - slowly lower the hydrometer into the test cup of near syrup to check the density. Never drop - cause they are made of glass and will break on the bottom of the cup if the syrup is to thin to float the hydrometer. Hey! Good Luck - Have Fun and Keep Asking Questions.