PDA

View Full Version : Storing boiled down sap

jamesd14
12-31-2014, 06:55 AM
Greetings all, this is my first post as this is my first year I will be making maple syrup. I have already found a lot of great info here. One thing I have been trying to find, once I boil my sap down on my homemade evaporator and bring inside to finish, how long can I store that until I actually finish. I ask this because I will not be collecting a lot every day but would like to boil down every day or every other day.Thank you.

maple flats
12-31-2014, 07:03 AM
Once boiled it will keep well, but leave it outside to stay cold until a few hours before you are going to finish it. If you boiled it as far as what remains in my evaporator (continuous flow) it will not freeze but you may get some slush on the surface.

jamesd14
12-31-2014, 07:29 AM
Thank you very much.

kiteflyingeek
12-31-2014, 08:12 AM
Additionally, if you have the space, you can store it in the freezer. I did that last year & it worked out just fine. Kind of depends if outside stays cool enough in your area.

--andrew

jamesd14
12-31-2014, 09:41 AM
Great idea, I have an empty chest freezer in the garage I could use for that. I am only going to have about 12 taps this year. I just bought this house and have at least a dozen sugar maples on it and a lot of Norway and Red Maples. I am only going to tap sugar maples this year. How long do you think the boiled down would last in the freezer before finishing. I do plan on finishig at least once a week.

maple flats
12-31-2014, 01:44 PM
It will keep, frozen way longer than a week, in fact, I've had up to 2 weeks awaiting more right in my pans with no apparent ill effect. If allowed to warm, everything changes and it would be worse than leaving milk on the table in the sun.

jamesd14
12-31-2014, 03:19 PM
Thank you very much

James

Big_Eddy
01-07-2015, 10:38 AM