PDA

View Full Version : Tubing or not.

Hill Crest Maple
11-12-2014, 07:40 PM
My wife and I have been making syrup for only 6 years now.
We tap about 80-100 on bags every year. Only about 15-30 gallons
of syrup per year. Our land is flat and not thinned for optimal production.
We totally enjoy the time of year and making syrup for the family. Once in
a while sell a few gallons. To get the cost/ gallon to about $150.00.:lol:
We have electricity now. Do we go to vacuum?
It would be a lot easier.

BreezyHill
11-12-2014, 08:20 PM
Vacuum yes...no reason to keep ahold of the bag.LOL

Even if you go with low vacuum, 16" you will be making 150% of what you were and for every inch of vac over 16" you will increase 5-7%. If you can find an old dairy pump like a Delaval 73,74,75, 76 or a surge rotary or piston pump you will be up and running with the production or purchase of a releaser.

The releaser is the unit that will separate the sap from the vacuum and keep the vacuum on the line.

there are a lot of dairy releaser styles out there if you are looking to do it cheap. I say cheap but green is the politically correct term. Recycled dairy equipment....

This is a pic of my releaser...It has been changed alittle during the season after this pic. I now use the 1.5" glass tees to connect mains.

The sap is pumped out of the bottom of the jar so this is a high efficiency releaser that does not waste or consume Cubic Feet per Minute of Air (cfms). Instead the vacuum level is increased slightly as the jar empties of sap on each cycle. There is a trick to get these to work and just pm me and I will share it with you.

Cost of one of these systems will depend on your luck and patience.