PDA

View Full Version : A container already using new grading system that is not yet in place.

red maples
10-03-2014, 02:19 PM
So my wife had 2 pieces of her art in a show out in Hollis NH this past weekend. Well she won best in show. Her prize was a pint of syrup from the folks that tap the trees on this particular property. (ironically I am a maple producer) but I enjoy tasting syrup and compairing to mine.

Anyway this particular sugarhouse has it marked with the cap sticker "Grade A Amber Rich Taste". Now, as we all should know by this time, this is the "medium" version of the new international grading system. Well that grading system is not quite in place yet (with the exception of VT) but this sugarhouse is using it? I really don't mind if they do that but if NH hasn't yet adopted these new rules then how can they use it? (NH on schedule for 2015 season to start new grades).

I am not gonna call them and complain like I said I really don't care but just wanted to see what others thought of it.

GeneralStark
10-03-2014, 02:27 PM
How is the syrup? Is it Amber Rich?

Amber Gold
10-06-2014, 07:31 AM
Bending the rules, but maybe it wasn't done intentionally. Could be confusion on if the rules have been adopted.

Cabin
10-06-2014, 07:48 AM
Maybe they sell a lot to people from Vermont?

red maples
10-06-2014, 03:19 PM
thats a good one. One explaination I heard was that since there were no more 2013 temp grading kits because Ironically they are made in VT and since already switch because they have to friggin first in everything maple it screwed the rest of who use the temp grading kits. Thx VT. anyway if you had disposed of the 2013 kit then you may have got the OK to go ahead and use the new grading system. It was a very grey area I guess. but what ever its all good.