PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Selling Sap

OrangeAgain
08-05-2014, 09:53 AM
I plan on selling sap from a Northeast Kingdom farm we recently bought. I'm new to this business and have the following questions.

1. How does the price of bulk sap get set?

2. Who sets the price?

3. Is there an area price or do individual sap buyers set their own price?

4. Does the price vary during the sugaring season?

5. What is the spread between sap bought at the sugar bush and sap delivered to the buyer?

6. How many gallons of sap should I get from each tap?

Thanks in advance for any answers.

maple flats
08-06-2014, 05:27 AM
While prices vary widely, from buyer to buyer, sap is priced by the buyer most often. I am only familiar with my pricing. I only buy sap brought to the sugarhouse and I use the suggested pricing from the "Maple Journal". Each year, before the season they publish a recommended price chart, based on a 50/50 split. It varies by sap sugar %, the higher the sugar, the higher the price. A typical average is 2% but that varies widely dependant on the trees. A nicely thinned bush gives better % that one with crowded trees. Even after thinning, it takes time for the crowns to fill in. The better the crown the higher the sugar%. For sap, if using buckets a good average might be 15-20 gal sap/season, tubing on medium vacuum about the same and tubing on high vacuum might get 25-30 gal/season in an average season. Tubing on gravity gets considerably less. There is a new method on gravity that gets good results, if you have good elevation drops (slope) you can use 3/16" tubing and get good natural vacuum. For that read up on 3/16" tubing design methods.
In my case, the price only varies by the sugar %.
If you are looking at a large volume of sap, some larger producers might pick up, but the price will be considerably lower.
Last season, 2% sap was about $.36/gal. The sap must be clean, clear, fresh and must taste and smell good.

ToadHill
08-06-2014, 06:39 AM