PDA

View Full Version : selling maple products

milligkl
07-22-2014, 11:16 AM
Hello,

I'm new to the maple product industry and trying to do as much research as possible before I dip my toe in the water and start producing syrup and other maple products (going to do about 15% of my lands capacity in the first year and gradually increase). I feel I have a pretty good idea about the operational side to running a sugar house, but had a few questions regarding selling the product. I wanted to get an idea from several producers on how they sell their product, where they sell it, and how they market the product.

1. How much in terms of revenue should one expect from selling at a farmers market? I know it will vary based on the state but I'm a little wary that people don't go to a farmers market for syrup, maple sugar, or maple candy they're typically going for fruits and vegetables.

2. What sort of breakdown do you have in terms of channels for selling your maple products (ie 50% farmers markets, 25% grocery stores, 25% restaurants)?

3. How do you go about making the first initial contact in selling your product? Do you call the grocery store, restaurant etc and try to set up an appointment?

4. What sort of marketing activities do you do for your product? I know social media is an easy way to market your product but I was curious about other ways that maple producers market their products.

5. What sort of price discounts do you offer groceries, restaurants, and general stores for your products with buying in bulk?

6. What quantities do you typically sell your syrup in to groceries and restaurants (ie by the quart) and how much syrup do your average customer purchase per year?

7. Has the way that you market or sell your products changed as your operation has grown?

Answers to any of my questions would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Kevin

maple flats
07-23-2014, 07:17 AM