PDA

View Full Version : Mason jar syrup.

Cougar4
04-15-2014, 04:21 PM
I'm fairly new to sugaring and was wondering if I can my syrup in mason jars, should I put the jars in a water bath after to get them to seal like I normally would, like with canning vegetables? Do I still need to get the syrup up to temp first like I would if I were using plastic bottles? Any suggestion would be great. Thanks.

Marcus
04-15-2014, 04:38 PM
I do not do a water bath. Just heat jars in oven, heat filtered syrup to 190, fill, wipe threads, put on lid, and put on ring. Also heat lids in hot water.
Marcus Yoder

maplerookie
04-15-2014, 04:50 PM
I clean the jars to remove dust put them in boiling water to kill off any germs take em out ..put upside down on a towel to drain. . heat syrup to 185 add to jars and then wipe rim of jar put on sterilized lid seal turn on side roll a couple of times and then stand em up separated to allow heat to escape.

Run Forest Run!
04-15-2014, 05:10 PM
I clean the jars to remove dust put them in boiling water to kill off any germs take em out ..put upside down on a towel to drain. . heat syrup to 185 add to jars and then wipe rim of jar put on sterilized lid seal turn on side roll a couple of times and then stand em up separated to allow heat to escape.

Exactly what I do. I don't trust heating jars in the oven any more. They can crack or burst on you.

Loch Muller
04-15-2014, 05:12 PM
I put the syrup my family eats in mason jars and do it quite similar to maplerookie. I turn the entire jar upside down for a couple minutes, but the end result is the same (a sterilized lid) The syrup goes in hot enough to seal the jars as it cools so you don't need the water bath.

RollinsOrchards
04-16-2014, 10:15 AM
A water bath for syrup is a BAD idea. Bringing the syrup to a boil will create more Nitre.

Hot syrup + Hot jar = no problems.