PDA

View Full Version : proper defoamer usage

MapleMoonChaos
04-15-2014, 11:57 AM
I've been making syrup for a few years now and I have never used any defoamer, but I'm thinking that it might make things easier. I was wondering if someone could tell me in detail ( the more detail the better) what they use, how to use it, when to use it, how much and how often to use it, etc. ( I think you get the idea) and what the benefits are ? any and all input is greatly appreciated. thanks.

Diesel Pro
04-15-2014, 12:00 PM
When there is foam present I simply add a couple of drops. It doesn't take much at all.

Last weekend I left my defoamer up at maple camp. I went to finish on my turkey cooker and it took off on me and foamed over in a big sticky mess like rootbeer. Thankfully I knew enough to put a couple drops of canola oil in and this tamed it down.

MapleMoonChaos
04-15-2014, 12:02 PM
do you add it to the syrup pan or the sap pan or both ?

ennismaple
04-15-2014, 12:09 PM
For our evaporator we add a 1/6 teaspoon of Kascher granulated defoamer to the flue pan right where the sap comes in from the float box (not in the float box) every 7 minutes. If we do that religiously we never get foam up in the pans and there's almost no scum to wipe down along the sides of the dividers.

PerryW
04-15-2014, 12:37 PM
I only use defoamer when the pans start foaming up, which is most of the time when I have good firewood.

Usually a 3-4 drops in each pan. I will also put a few drops in as insurance if I have to run up and transfer sap or am preoccupied with take-off's or washing filters. I try to avoid using it before an imminent take-off.

Some guys use it all the time because it supposedly evaporates faster when defoamed.

psparr
04-15-2014, 12:43 PM
Here's my way. I believe it was from Dr. Tim but don't quote me.

Depending on your evaporator size, you'll need morebor less.