PDA

View Full Version : Next Generation 2x3 - Experience?

djhcatony
04-10-2014, 08:41 PM
I may have missed a forum discussion on the NextGen 2x3 and if so, I apologize for raising the question again. I am just getting started and considering a purchase of this evaporator. Would anyone have an opinion or experience they would like to share? Seems like a nice, simple set up for someone planning < 50 taps. Thanks much!

corbox1
12-30-2014, 10:42 AM
I bought a 2x4 evaporator from Nextgen last season. I really like it and have had no issues. Its easy to operate. I am a small producer 50-100 taps and I went with the 2x4 setup. I felt that this was the better choice because it allows you the option to upgrade the pan someday if you ever want a drop flue or something made by another manufacturer. That being said, in order to get any decent yield out of these units, they have to be really boiling. Prepare to load the fire about every 5-10 minutes.

Woodtap
03-31-2018, 06:40 PM
I am looking at the same evaporator to purchase for next season, was wondering how many gallons it boils off in an hour? Did your unit come with a blower?

Troutman10
04-01-2018, 10:46 PM
I have a nextgen 2x3 that Ive used for a couple seasons now. I learned more with it this year than last. I was loading wood every 5-10 mins with it and got close to the 8 gph time it claimes on the website. You could get 5-6 gph all day long if youre not efficient loading wood. My wood could have been dried a bit more and that may have helped my gph time. Also, might have to try some sort of fan next year. Its really a good little unit. Bought mine at the end of the season and saved a little bc he usually has a sale. I think 50 taps is accurate for max on the 2x3. It all depends on what you have for time. I dont see myself going over 50 due to time constraints and being very busy in general anyways. Good luck!

Ps The units dont come with a blower

Woodtap
04-02-2018, 07:20 AM