PDA

View Full Version : Surge sp 22 dead

RE Acres
04-07-2014, 07:58 PM
My Suge SP 22 went semi tight today. Oil was about 1" up in the sight tube, and had been running staight for about 20 hours after a fresh oil change,(Fleet Farm all season Vacuum Pump Oil). I run a 2.5 inch motor pulley at 900 rpm on the engine which is consideralbly slower than the 1750 RPM electric motor but its fast enough for me to pull 26 Inches on my 275 tress so I see no reason to run it harder. I thought perhaps the slower rpm may not be giving me adequate splash. Any thoughts on what might have caused its demise? I hate to trash my spare because I am missing something . I have not yet pulled it apart so I am not sure if the failure is in the crank or psiton area. Any input would be appreciated

Russell Lampron
04-08-2014, 06:00 AM
I use 5W-30 in my SP 22 and never fill it more than 3/4" in the sight tube. I have been running it at 25" or close to it for 5 years and sometimes for days at a time. You might be on to something with the RPM's being too low. You may have an issue with running vacuum pump oil in it too. I'm not sure what the lubrication properties of it are. I have an electric motor on mine that is turning at 1750 RPM with a 2 1/2" pulley on the motor.

lmathews
04-08-2014, 07:00 AM
I to just set up an sp 22.I talked to an old time surge dealer from wormuth dairy(Ray). The pump should not be any more than 550rpm(475 to 500) and the only oil should be vac oil. He has been a surge dealer 50+ years. I have a 14" pulley on the pump,& a 4" on the motor & the motor is a surge 1.5hp 1725rpm.I am running at 27" of vac.At the higher rpm oil supposedly doesn't splash properly.

wiam
04-08-2014, 09:59 PM
I ran 15-40 Rotella in mine for years with a gas engine. Then went back to original electric motor. Ran fine till the shaft broke off the motor. But I don't blame that on the oil. That was when I upgraded to an Atlantic.

RE Acres
04-10-2014, 08:09 PM