PDA

View Full Version : New to forum, first attempt at sugaring, syrup and bottling. How did i do.

Sledheed
04-06-2014, 07:41 PM
I cooked my first two batches of almost syrup last night just to see if i could actually do it. Ended up with three and a half pints and could not be happier with my efforts. Had it on pancakes this morning. A little cloudy, chances are from not filtering enough. Its for me and some to give away.

Ittiz
04-06-2014, 08:15 PM
Yeah filtering takes a lot of patience.

Petroff
04-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Looks just like the syrup I made this year. This is my first year also. Mine is a little cloudy also but tastes great !!!!! one batch I finished I went a little higher on the temp. (I don't have a hydrometer yet) and the syrup is very clear but something has settled to the bottom of the jars... might just pour off the clear stuff.

Run Forest Run!
04-06-2014, 08:18 PM
Congratulations on your first syrup!! Here's a tip.....keep it all for yourself. lol

TerryEspo
04-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Hi Sled:

Welcome and what ya have there looks great !!

Enjoy it, filtering is later after you enjoy that stuff.

You will become one of us addicted peeps soon enough.

Good luck with all you do.

maple marc
04-06-2014, 10:25 PM
Sled, congrats. Don't let the cloudiness get you down. It's the hardest part of the sport. Bottling into glass requires the utmost in patience, and equipment. Your jars will settle out eventually, leaving just some fine particles on the bottom. I've gone through a lot of frustration and heartache trying to make my syrup absolutely clear for our fancy glass bottles. Finally gave up on orlon cones last year and bought a filter press. Big help, but not still not the magic bullet. The canner is the final step, and it's the make or break. Raise your temperature just a little too fast or too high and bam.....you have cloudiness again. So guess what.......this year another piece of equipment--a water jacket canner. Bingo--nirvana, clear nirvana.

Marc