PDA

View Full Version : Who's tapping Birches?

Ittiz
04-05-2014, 10:08 PM
So I just finished putting the spiles in my big Black Birches today. These trees are always so satisfying to tap. Not only does the sap smell of wintergreen, but when you drill the hole the sap gushes out. After I got a few trees on the line the sap was literately squirting out of the tube before I could even get it into the barrel. So much so I could drink from it like a water fountain.

So who else here taps birches? Obviously I like to tap Black Birch, but what kinds do other people like to tap?

TerryEspo
04-05-2014, 10:14 PM
I may have to tap Birch this year if the darn Maples don't run soon, lol.
I have never done Birch before, but maybe soon I will try it. Usually had enough once Maple sap was done, but this year may be different.

Cabin
04-06-2014, 02:13 PM
I am going to give it a try. My son fell in love with birch syrup when we were in Alaska. Not sure how the boiling will go because I have read that birch sap will burn if not handled properly.

Ittiz
04-06-2014, 08:09 PM
When I made birch syrup last year I didn't boil it I just simmered it down in the upper 100s. I didn't want to risk burning the sugars. Worked well, but took longer on top of their being 1/2 to 1/3 the sugar in it. Made a nice syrup though, which was even good on pancakes. Had an almost fruity flavor.

Cabin
04-07-2014, 08:46 AM
When I made birch syrup last year I didn't boil it I just simmered it down in the upper 100s. I didn't want to risk burning the sugars. Worked well, but took longer on top of their being 1/2 to 1/3 the sugar in it. Made a nice syrup though, which was even good on pancakes. Had an almost fruity flavor.