PDA

View Full Version : Covering your evaporator

poulin
04-01-2014, 08:11 PM
Hi all,

I am a first year producer, 100 taps, 2x6 evaporator.

I am wondering if people covers their evaporator at night after boiling because i am concerned with rodents. For those of you who do, what do you use ?

Thanks a lot

syrup2make
04-01-2014, 09:01 PM
Never had problems with rodents, but we covered ours with a sheet of plywood and a big brick on top to keep the wind from blowing it off.

PerryW
04-01-2014, 09:16 PM
I never cover mine unless it is going to sit Idle a week or more. I've also never has a problem w/ mice and you can throw a cat between the boards in my sugarhouse

maple flats
04-01-2014, 09:21 PM
I have a tight hood on my flue pan and I made a SS cover that is put on the syrup pan. Also each side box has it's own SS cover. I also did that on my 2x6 finisher and my canner. I don't want to take chances.

Mr Sugar Maple
04-01-2014, 09:41 PM
I use plexiglass on my flu pan and syrup pan, just cut to size.

KevinS
04-01-2014, 11:29 PM
I cover mine when it will sit for several days. I just use a sheet of plastic. so I put it on the day after boiling if it looks like it will be a day or two more before I cook again. the homemade preheater on the flue pan makes it nearly impossible to use a hard cover and still close it up well. I could take that off easy..but then it would not be covered also. this way it is

poulin
04-02-2014, 03:07 AM
Thanks for sharing your experience. I clearly prefer not to take any chance so all your ideas are much appreciated especially as now its too late for having one built in SS so i need alternative ideas for now.

Loch Muller
04-02-2014, 05:03 AM
I built one out of aluminum flashing and pop rivets for this year. Its a little flimsy, but it works for now.

mantispid
04-02-2014, 08:29 AM