PDA

View Full Version : Most Taps without employees

sweetmusicj
03-29-2014, 12:39 AM
Greetings from half way across the world!

Sorry if this has been asked, but my internet connection is slow here so it limits my searching ability of archives.

Was wondering what the most taps you think or have seen can be done with just one person (and a little help from family and friends).

I need something to get me through the day here and it's been a grand idea of getting into the Maple Syrup business when my time in the military is complete (I have some novice experience when I was a kid and convinced my grandpa to start making maple syrup with me). Just curious as to the tap limits of someone who wanted to tap as many trees as possible without the hassle of employees (assuming I could find that dream piece of land where everything was perfect).

Thanks for any info!

Nathan

KevinS
03-29-2014, 04:02 AM
60 taps can be more than one person can handle if you are doing it on a turkey frier..
So really how many taps one person can handle, really comes down to how big of an investment you can pony up. and can you or will you make it a full time job.

Russell Lampron
03-29-2014, 05:15 AM
I have 800 taps here and a full time job. My son and son in law help me as well as other family members but I have no employees. It helps that all of my taps are on my own land and that I have reverse osmosis and a nice evaporator.

Scribner's Mountain Maple
03-29-2014, 05:39 AM
I have a part time job and have ran 1400 taps in the past, this yr I added 900, up to 2300. I have a friend that helps, but for the most part it is a solo operation. I plan to add a couple more thousand this summer. I think 1 person can handle most of it. Taping, running lines, etc. Boiling is pretty hard with 1 man. I ran a 4*12 by myself for years. Now I have a 6*16 and am a little scared to run by myself. Mostly can I fire it fast enough, and can I filter syrup fast enough.