PDA

View Full Version : Looks like the end

Noah's Ark
03-28-2014, 12:58 PM
Looks like this is the last run this weekend. long range temps don't show a night lower than 32 for the next week. Not a great year, only mad 5 gallons so far and will finish off another 2-3 this weekend. I was hoping for 15-20 this year, but at least I enjoyed the new evaporator. I do have a question for others. This is my first year with a continuous flow pan. How do you finish off what is left in the pan. I am thinking I will boil it down as low as i can then empty the pan and finish in the house. I may stop drawing after i get the sweat our and the draw off starts to turn clear. Any other suggestions?

lafite
03-28-2014, 01:49 PM
I empty my pan out and finish on propane. I usually end up with close to 2 gallons of syrup when it's boiled down.

markct
03-28-2014, 04:20 PM
I am realy hoping that a few of those 32 deg night make it to like 28 or 29 deg, seems the accuweather.com temps are often about 3 to 5 deg high for my area so I am optimistic it could happen but time will tell!

DaveB
03-28-2014, 07:46 PM
I am realy hoping that a few of those 32 deg night make it to like 28 or 29 deg, seems the accuweather.com temps are often about 3 to 5 deg high for my area so I am optimistic it could happen but time will tell!

One thing to keep in mind about those Accuweather forecasts is that they are almost entirely generated by a computer with little input from someone who knows your area. As someone with a meteorology background, I rely on the NWS because that's done by someone in a regional office that knows your area a little better even then it's not perfect. Micro climates are all over and it's hard to to predict those.