PDA

View Full Version : Small hobby pan?

liljohn
03-27-2014, 09:56 AM
So I am new to collecting maple sap and syrup and have decided that next year I would like a small pan to help me with evaporation. I was thinking to have a 24"x24" pan made up. I was wondering if you all have any comments on this size pan as I do not see that anyone makes one and it seems to be about the right size for a small hobby operation. I plan to cook on propane or may be natural gas (as I have a few wells on my property to draw from). I will trickle feed the opposite side of the pan from a preheater pot. Thoughts, opinions? I am attaching my pan design.9473

Thanks,
~lj

KevinS
03-27-2014, 10:05 AM
So I am new to collecting maple sap and syrup and have decided that next year I would like a small pan to help me with evaporation. I was thinking to have a 24"x24" pan made up. I was wondering if you all have any comments on this size pan as I do not see that anyone makes one and it seems to be about the right size for a small hobby operation. I plan to cook on propane or may be natural gas (as I have a few wells on my property to draw from). I will trickle feed the opposite side of the pan from a preheater pot. Thoughts, opinions? I am attaching my pan design.9473

Thanks,
~lj
My first question is - if you have natural gas, why would you even consider propane?
On size-
Base the size of the pan on how many taps you plan on having. With that said you will still be wrong... LOL
if you are like most people. Oh I am just going to run 20 taps,yeah that is enough.. the next year you will be looking for 40.

liljohn
03-27-2014, 10:21 AM
On the gas issue my current cook situation is in an old corn crib which I have converted to be my sugar shack. Currently there is no nat. gas to the corn crib. Maybe next year or maybe not.