PDA

View Full Version : Establishing a gradient

shiirooms
03-23-2014, 05:08 PM
Read some of the recent posts but none address my concern. Info:This is my first time at using a commercial arch with a divided pan. So far I've boiled off 60 gal of sap on a Sun Rise arch, 2x3 divided pan over wood heat. Stoking every 12 minutes and adding 2 gal of raw sap to the feed pan at the same time. Have a good boil in all three sections while maintaining a 2 inch sap level. The stack temps average 1100 from a cheap internal thermometer. Have yet to draw off any syrup, in fact have yet to get the temp at draw off above 214. At shut down because I've run out of sap, I stop off the holes between sections to try and keep any gradient. My question is how long should it take to get to the draw off temp of 218? Am I being impatient here? Am I dong something wrong? Any advise would be helpful.
DB

wnybassman
03-23-2014, 05:15 PM
Running 2" in a 2x3 will require more than 60 gallons of sap to start drawing off. You should be noticing a color difference between the channels now though.

Ausable
03-23-2014, 05:40 PM
This is where a syrup hydrometer is worth its weight in gold. If You have one - check your near syrup at your draw off point. You might be surprised how close you are.

psparr
03-23-2014, 05:51 PM
Are you adding 2 gallons at a time every time you fire? That would probably mess up the gradient. You should find a way to add sap at the same rate as your boiling off. Also firing sooner. About every seven mins.

Depending on your sugar content you could easily have to boil plenty more before your ready to draw off.

Also using a defoamer will help keep your gradient. The foam will push syrup back through the pan.

Good luck.

BnSmaple
03-23-2014, 06:20 PM
I just got my rig fired up and it took about 500 gal to get it sweet its a 4x12 raised flue

shiirooms
03-23-2014, 06:53 PM