PDA

View Full Version : Tapping In Cemetery

jmp
03-20-2014, 07:23 PM
Yeah, I'll bet that got your attention. Well it sure got mine. Was driving through a small town in western MA today and saw buckets hanging on maples inside a cemetery. Hmm.....your syrup has an off flavor..........:o

happy thoughts
03-20-2014, 07:43 PM
From last years discussion it sounds like the practice is pretty common throughout New England

http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?20073-Cemetery-Trees...&highlight=cemetery

spud
03-20-2014, 07:45 PM
We had threads about this before and there are some on Trader that tap cemetery trees. I guess there is nothing wrong with it but I would not want to eat that syrup.

Spud

maplerookie
03-20-2014, 07:46 PM
Well the dead don't mind the activity of a sugarer I wouldn't think .

jmp
03-20-2014, 08:02 PM
Well let me tell you why I would never do it. I am a land development consultant and was involved with a project last year that involved looking at a piece of land downgradient and adjacent to an old cemetery (circa late 1800s). The site to be developed would end up using an onsite well so we took groundwater (and soil) samples. Guess what was in both the samples. Arsenic and formaldehyde compounds. We tested undeveloped areas upgradient from the cemetery and the samples came back clean. Based on inferred groundwater flow it was crystal clear that the cemetery was the contributor of these contaminants.

Many early coffins were lined and or made from lead which can be taken up by trees, as can arsenic. Lead is not mobile in the environment but can be taken up by trees. And although I understand that maples have shallow root systems maybe its just the the idea that there are decomposed bodies below the trees. Just my two cents. Many people smarter than me will certainly have other opinions.

SlopYourDripper
03-20-2014, 08:05 PM
"Come, sweet death" by J.S. Bach may have been written with this in mind....