PDA

View Full Version : Thin syrup

BobMac
03-20-2014, 12:04 PM
First off , thanks for the wealth of information on this site. I have a newbie question.
This is my first year at this maple syrup thing :) I 'am batch boiling, built a 55 gallon drum evaporator.
Haven't used it yet not enough sap. yesterday I boiled down 7/8 gallon on the turkey fryer, I don't have
a hydrometer yet hopefully this weekend, so going by everything I've read you should bring it up to 219 degrees
to finish ??I did this 219 on a digital and a new candy thermometer .it tastes good but its awful thin not like the
syrup I have bought at the local sugar shack. Do you think I need to boil it longer or wait and use a hydrometer for the next batch??
If needing to boil longer can I re boil the little over a pint and a half that I have?
sorry for the long post but my father always said you'll never know unless you ask :) thanks in advance

Rangdale
03-20-2014, 12:10 PM
I had the same issue, would bring it to 219.5 and it still seemed thin. Got myself a hydrometer and low and behold, it was thin. I had to bring it up to 223 before it registered correctly in the hydrometer. Thought my hydrometer might be off so I bought a bottle of syrup at one of the farm stores. Hydrometer was right on the money, both cold reading and hot reading. I checked the boiling point of water on the stove and its 212 exactly but using the same thermometer (within 20 minutes) on the syrup it needs to be 223. No idea why this is and nobody else seems to either. Get a hydrometer, it's definitely worth the $

eustis22
03-20-2014, 12:38 PM
boiling points vary with the elevation...boiling point at sea level may not be the BP at elevation. Hydrometer to be Sure.

wnybassman
03-20-2014, 12:39 PM