PDA

View Full Version : sap in the drop flues??

dirtnworm
03-18-2014, 08:47 AM
Newbie here. I have been looking at the drop flue pan designs and have what may be a stupid question. How do you get the sap out of the bottom of the flues when near the end of the batch since from my understanding that is below the level of the syrup pan. Thanks in advance.

SmellsLikeSyrupNH
03-18-2014, 08:57 AM
i wonder the same thing

Waynehere
03-18-2014, 09:18 AM
Usually you start adding water to your system which will push the remaining sap around to the syrup pan. Usually I only do this at the end of the season though on my last boil. Just like the differences in density between sap and syrup, the water will push the sap. Then you end up with just water in your flue pan. Works great.

wiam
03-18-2014, 09:58 AM
Mine has a drain on the bottom that comes out through the side of the arch. I would not buy a drop flue that did not have a drain.

jmayerl
03-18-2014, 10:38 AM
As wiam said most have drains but some manufactures make a hobby pan with no drain. This is to keep costs as low as possible. In that case something like a turkey Baster would be needed to suck out the sweet.

Waynehere
03-18-2014, 10:49 AM
When I need to drain my pan, I take it down as low as possible with the pan outlets and then shop vac out the remaining. I only have a drop tube pan though. Flues would hold way more sap and a little pump would probably work better.

WESTMAPLES
03-18-2014, 10:50 AM