PDA

View Full Version : Using sap to brew beer

jjhunter
03-18-2014, 08:28 AM
Hello all,
I am completely new at this. This is my first year tapping trees. I have several mature silver maples in my yard and i thought this year i would give it a shot.

My plan is to replace all of the water in the brewing process with sap. I want to condense it down in half to concentrate the sugars a bit more. I also want to make some super condensed sap that I would add in the fermenting process. Being new to this, I have run into several questions and would appreciate any help.

1. How long will condensed sap last? For instance I boiled down 3 gallons to 1 quart. I then put it in my freezer. How long will this last before it spoils? Also if i were to just boil 3 gallons to 1 1/2 gallons how long would it last in the cold but not in a freezer?

2. Is there a limit as to how many gallons is ok to take from one tree? I don't want to do any damage to them.

3. What should i do with the tap holes once I am done? Is there any type of treatment that should be added to help seal the hole and protect it from any type of bacteria in that area?

I apologize if these questions are in the wrong forum or are ridiculously obvious. I did a lot of research and unfortunately I couldn't find answers to my specific questions. Plus there isn't much literature out there on brewing with sap so I just want to make sure that I am doing everything correctly.

Thanks ahead of time!

SDdave
03-18-2014, 08:59 AM
jjhunter,

First welcome to the maple community.

Hopefully I can answer some questions for ya.

1.)Condensed sap in a freezer can be held for a long time, exact duration do not know exactly. I had some almost syrup that I froze for about a month and had no problem. Condensed sap kept cold maybe a few days?