PDA

View Full Version : Do I need air holes to get the sap to flow?

Beth Parker
03-17-2014, 09:40 AM
Hi,

This is my first time tapping (doing it today) and I'm running short pieces of tubing from each tap to a 5-gallon bucket sitting on the ground (1 bucket per tree). I drilled 5/16" holes in the lids to insert the tubing. Do I also need to drill air holes in the lids in order for the sap to flow?

Beth

SmellsLikeSyrupNH
03-17-2014, 09:47 AM
Unless the holes you drilled to insert the tubing into the buckets precision precision air tight...i doubt you will need to do anymore. Good luck on your 1st season!!

Beth Parker
03-17-2014, 09:52 AM
Unless the holes you drilled to insert the tubing into the buckets precision precision air tight...i doubt you will need to do anymore. Good luck on your 1st season!!

OK, thank you! I am only doing 18 taps this year. I could do more if I had more money, but nope, I'm flat broke now! LOL

SmellsLikeSyrupNH
03-17-2014, 10:07 AM
:-) have fun with it...maybe sell a bottle or 2 to friends to recoup your expenses.

maple flats
03-17-2014, 10:10 AM
Flat broke is how most of us started, then we went in the hole to expand. This is a fun addictive hobby, welcome. Enjoy, and don't let me scare you away.

psparr
03-17-2014, 11:12 AM
Just click one or two of the tabs on the lid. Trying to open them buggers fully closed is a pain.

Beth Parker
03-17-2014, 11:18 AM
Thanks, everyone! :)

The dairy farmer
03-17-2014, 12:00 PM
its deffinettly expensive to start into ,

markct
03-17-2014, 04:59 PM