PDA

View Full Version : Refractometer--for filtered syrup only?

maple marc
03-14-2014, 10:22 PM
Can a digital refractometer be used on any syrup--filtered or unfiltered? Or does it only work with filtered syrup?

Thanks

maple marc
03-20-2014, 09:55 AM
Someone must know the answer to this question!

Thanks,
Marc

emo
03-20-2014, 02:11 PM
You should be able to use it on any syrup, filtered or not filtered. I use an non-digital one to check sap and syrup through all stages; the refractometer goes 0-90%, through 3 separate scales.

TheMapleMoose
03-20-2014, 02:12 PM
I use ours for unfiltered syrup once in a while. Seems to be a little inaccurate but I think it's because of the temperature....even though it's ATC. It's a lot more accurate on filtered, cooled syrup....I'm an expert by no means. This is just my experience.

Snowy Pass Maple
03-24-2014, 07:02 PM
We have the Hanna refractometer rated for 0-85 - in my experience, it's very slow to stabilize on readings with syrup - unfiltered or filtered - even after the automatic temperature correction ends, it can change for 10-15 minutes. With a hot sample, it's essentially useless because you can have a lot of evaporation in that time.

Net is that I don't find it at all useful for syrup. (same issue with honey as well)

HOWEVER - I could not live without this for our RO! It is awesome for monitoring sap in tanks, feed to the evaporator, checking sugar in the woods, etc. Those measurements converge immediately and are very repeatable. It's rugged enough to carry around, dribble stuff all over the case and just rinse off. So I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for those applications.

johnallin
03-24-2014, 07:19 PM
Hey that's a good question...

It would make sense that the syrup should be clear (filtered?) to get an accurate reading, but since there are different methods of filtering - with some better than others, press vs. felt cone - I don't know how it can be accurate unless the sample is crystal clear.