PDA

View Full Version : Selling Syrup

BranchHillMaple
03-12-2014, 12:11 PM
Not sure if this is the right part of the forum for this or not but anyways here it goes, this is my first year making syrup, and im on pace to make about 20 gallons well my question is if I give away 7 gallons lets say and sell the other 13 to various people is there anything i have to do with the state of vermont or anything. The only reason i ask is because my plan in the future is to make around 75 gallons a year and most of it I want to sell. So any help on this would be greatly appreciated thanks

wiam
03-12-2014, 02:42 PM
At this time you don't have to do anything with the state to retail maple. It must be labeled with proper grade and producer name and address.

BranchHillMaple
03-12-2014, 04:56 PM
Alright thanks

markct
03-12-2014, 05:07 PM
You are supposed to register with the FDA at the federal level tho.

Michael Greer
03-12-2014, 06:07 PM
But for thirteen gallons.....just sell it.

markct
03-12-2014, 06:51 PM
I agree for that volume I doubt they would ever come after you, I just mentioned it since he asked the question, and is looking to expand.

BranchHillMaple
03-13-2014, 08:22 AM
From the little research ive done on the FDA thing is that anyone selling syrup to the public is supposed to register with the FDA under some new law, but from the looks its free to do and its basically a bunch of guild lines for processing a packaging syrup in a clean environment. Just another way for the government to try to know what your doing at all times

happy thoughts
03-13-2014, 08:55 AM
Just another way for the government to try to know what your doing at all times

Or a way to find why kids and old folks are dying after eating spinach and cantaloupe.

Sugar-me-Timbers
03-13-2014, 11:07 AM
I haven't heard of any spinach deaths in my area. When I sell my syrup, the purchaser knows my name and address. I don't want the government in all my affairs, I don't think anyone does?

happy thoughts