PDA

View Full Version : Flavor Question - Butterscotch?

BeattyMaple
03-11-2014, 03:37 PM
I'm a second year maple newbie from Monkton, MD. I am overwhelmed with sap from about 10 taps. I can only boil about 10 gallons at a time. This year I moved to an oil drum evaporator so I can handle a bit more.

I am concerned with the flavor of my maple syrup. I'm wondering what is normal for backyard sugarin'. I am getting mostly silver maple and sugar maple sap with a little bit from red maple trees.

My syrup tastes butterscotchy.

I'm going for the more store bought Vermont maple syrup flavor. Any suggestions or is that just the flavor of small-time, wood-fired oil drum evaporator, Maryland maple syrup?

I'm new here too so if this has already been covered, please point me to the thread. Thanks!

TerryEspo
03-11-2014, 04:03 PM
My syrup has the same off flavour, not bad, I love it.
Vanilla or butterscotch, hard to nail down the exact flavour. To me, it is the better stuff.

I feel it is due to early season sap, batch boiled, boiled fresh, same day, not sitting around, boiled hot and fast and made into syrup right away. I find as the season progresses, that flavour goes away and more traditional maple syrup flavour is in the syrup, darker too.

Maybe others have a scientific explanation, lol.

happy thoughts
03-11-2014, 04:06 PM