PDA

View Full Version : New Vacuum Question

cur dog
03-07-2014, 10:33 AM
I'm new to Vacuum this year, so bear with my stupid questions. I've got a new vacuum pump rated for 8cfm and new releaser. I've got everything all hooked up and ready to roll, if we ever get a thaw. The woods are tapped and waiting. I ran the pump this morning for the first time. With my mainline valve closed, the gauge on the releaser read 27.5". With the valve opened up, after several minutes, the gauge settled in at about 20". There are about 525 taps on this system. My question is whether this sounds about right to everybody? I know there will be some loss from the taps and 100 saddles and various connections. Do I have a major leak someplace, or should I be happy with this? Thanks.

Thompson's Tree Farm
03-07-2014, 11:18 AM
You should be able to get within an inch or so of what the closed off system shows. Most likely you have many small leaks if you have 20" not a single major one. Don't ever be satisfied!

lpakiz
03-07-2014, 11:40 AM
I think you can do better. It will be tough to find small leaks without sap flow. I find large leaks by sight, not by hearing, because the big ones don't make much noise. So you can search for them anytime.
Small leaks are found by inspecting flow just before each lateral connects to the mainline. Look for very slow, steady movement-maybe an inch every 2-3 seconds. If bubbles and sap are traveling much faster than that, check that lateral.

maple flats
03-07-2014, 12:18 PM
What length and size tubing are you using for the mains? They could also be too small. But more likely the issue is leaks.As soon as you start getting sap flow, walk the lines and check for leaks, then fix them.

brookledge
03-07-2014, 07:51 PM