PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator Spigot Suggestion

pyro
03-05-2014, 08:53 PM
Hi, I am a first year weekend hobbyist here. I just tapped 10 trees and have read enough that I'm going to just skip that 1st year where you boil off a propane tank. I'm having a 24"x36" pan made from 14 guage stainless. I know this is thick and will take longer to start to boil, but once it gets up to temperature I believe it should be the same as thinner material. The pan will be one continuous pan, no partitions.

I'm going to place it on top of cement blocks. This needs to be a temporary weekend setup.

I would like install some sort of drain spigot. My current idea is to buy a 1/2" NPT nipple and weld it onto the bottom corner of the pan. Then install a stainless 1/2" ball valve to the nipple. I'm looking for some advice on this idea. Any downsides to this, any better ideas?

Thanks

Big_Eddy
03-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Your challenge with a 2x3 pan and 10 trees is going to be sap volume. A 2x3 pan needs about 70 gals of sap to be able to boil it down to syrup in the pan. Any less than that and you will be finishing for a long time on the stove or propane.

What I did with mine was wait until I was down to 3/8" in the pan then rotated it 45 degrees and poured out the corner

If you intend to put a spigot in you want it as low as possible. Add a little box in your corner that extends past the blocks of your arch and put the pipe out the bottom. Otherwise you are not going to be able to drain your pan.

Even still, with only 10 trees you will rarely have enough finished syrup that you can drain it out a spigot. 70 gals boils down to 3/8" mentioned above before it is syrup.

Ausable
03-05-2014, 09:06 PM