PDA

View Full Version : economics of equipment

theguywiththename
03-02-2014, 03:24 PM
Just curious, how many taps would you need to make it worthwhile purchasing a filter press? A vacuum system?

Ausable
03-02-2014, 05:39 PM
Curious Question - So I had to reply. I am a Hobby Producer and give my product away - so naturally - I try and keep my cost down as I have no intention of ever going commercial and selling maple syrup. Reading Your history in maple syrup making You have had 18 taps for several years. My question would be - do You plan a large expansion and going commercial or just curious? Many of us make rig things up to make the job easier or buy used stuff. As You know by checking the prices of the maple syrup equipment makers - A Filter Press can be expensive and I wouldn't buy one unless I sold a lot of maple syrup - as You have to pay for the thing with your profits. Some guys make them up. Same with a vacuum system - many use old dairy vacuum pumps or rig up a vacuum system. With my 55+ taps - I just use drop tubes to 5 gallon plastic buckets and lids. But - If You have the money and more trees to tap why not experiment - always fun. I see You now have a continuous flow pan - that will add to the adventure. Hey! Hope You have a good year. ---Mike---

red maples
03-02-2014, 05:50 PM
Well it all comes down to what you want to spend. DO you want to sell your product? would you eventually want to be big enough to try to make a profit?

Those are things that you will need to take into account before you dive in.

If you are the handy type then you can do things a lot cheaper if you shop around and look for deals look into old dairy farms for pumps and releasers. Although its very expensive even though it says for hobby applications there is a lot of smaller back yard hobby stuff out there although I am not sure who is gonna really spend $700 for a little filter press doesn't make sense to me. but to each his own.