PDA

View Full Version : New member from NY

Crushnbugs
02-27-2014, 06:26 PM
Hi all,

I am VERY new to all this, Im taking in as much info as I can. I am looking to tap my local sugar maples here for the family and friends. Im not looking to sell or do this as a living but a hobby. I have always tried my hand at making things from scratch, and have had great success at my beer making so this is something I have wanted to do since I was little and did it with my Father way back then. Great memories and my love for the sweet stuff began a long long time ago.

Thank you in advance!

BreezyHill
02-27-2014, 06:32 PM
Welcome! Most of us have fond memories of sugaring at a young age. I hope you can pass on the great times with your family and friends.

Maple is one of the sweetest parts of life.

Ben

Ausable
02-27-2014, 07:23 PM
Hello again Mike and Welcome - I know where you are coming from as I made Wine many years ago - never tried Beer - although I have Hops growing in my yard. Trying new things keeps us young. The Mrs. and I always make and can our own applesauce etc. - this year I had the bright idea to make our own apple cider - but - didn't want to invest in a cider press. LOL - A guy on a Site made it with a mop bucket and wringer and laundry bags and a food processor. LOL - So I made three gallons of apple cider last Fall with the waste apple material and we canned it and very good. Hey - I make maple syrup as a hobby too - I'm 73 now and look forward to it every year --- keeps me going. Welcome to Maple Trader. ----Another Mike---

maplerookie
02-27-2014, 07:37 PM